Start your review of The Complete Book of Swords Books of Swords, Write a review Jun 10, Jean-Paul rated it it was amazing A good friend had recommended this collection to me a year or so ago, but had also added at the time that he had mislaid his copy of it and wished he could read it again. Recently while searching for an ugly shirt to wear to a Hawaiian themed party I was fortunate enough to find a copy of this volume on sale for a dollar at a local thrift store. When I informed my friend of my good fortune I had to promise to lend it to him to re-read as soon as I was done with it. And now having completed the A good friend had recommended this collection to me a year or so ago, but had also added at the time that he had mislaid his copy of it and wished he could read it again. And now having completed the task of reading these stories I am glad to say that I can now understand his eagerness to return to this world. So I take this to mean that I do have more to look forward to in this series down the road and that I should keep my eye out whenever I happen to be in a book browsing mood.

Author:Jutaur Douktilar
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):17 September 2009
PDF File Size:9.11 Mb
ePub File Size:3.90 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Beschreibung bei Amazon Fred Saberhagen was a noteworthy American author, who was famous for writing fantasy and science fiction novels. He was particularly well known for developing the Berserker series. The other popular novel series of author Fred include Book of Swords and Dracula series. He has served at the time of the Korean War. Fred has even worked for the Motorola company as a technician.

Author Fred started his writing career by selling his debut short story in to the Galaxy Magazine. The first full length book written by him is called The Golden People and was released in All the books in these series depict Ardneh as an intelligent supercomputer that used to be a system of nuclear response that brought about the physical changes on the planet.

Another successful novel series that author Fred wrote in his career is called Dracula. This series features several fantasy novels that describe the vampires as being neither evil nor good by default, and having the ability of making their own decisions, just like the humans. This series was started in and finally came to an end in , after the publication of 10 books. He was brought up in the Chicago area.

Just when Fred completed his studies, he enlisted himself to serve in the Air Force at the time of Korean War.

Fred was in his early 20s at that time. When the war was over, he left the air force and started living a civilian life once again. Later, Fred joined the Motorola Corporation worked on the post of an electronics technician for a period of 4 years between and During this time, Fred was aged around It was during this job that author Fred started writing fiction.

He got so much involved in it that he started taking it seriously. Eventually, Fred was able to sell his first story to the literary magazine called Galaxy Magazine in In the Berserker series, Fred wrote the 1st short story as Fortress Ship.

This story had come out in Between and , Fred worked as the editor for Chemistry articles in Encyclopedia Britannica. He even wrote its science article during this period.

Later, he quit from this job and started working as a full time author. In , author Fred shifted to Albuquerque, New Mexico. Author Fred was married to a fellow writer named Joan Spicci. The couple had a daughter and 2 sons. Fred suffered from prostate cancer for some time in the later stages of his life and finally died on June 29, in Albuquerque.

In the adult age, author Fred had started practicing Catholicism. The indications of this faith appear in his writings from time to time. The Dracula series written by Fred Saberhagen is comprised of a total of 10 books, which were released between the years and The books in this series describe the vampires as normal humans.

They can be good or bad as per their choice. In the books, Fred has depicted a historical figure named Vlad Tepes as the Dracula. He was a Wallachia voviode, known as Drakulya, and becomes a vampire after getting murdered. It was released by the Tor Books in the year However, they did not know that a very old blood feud would come after them through many generations.

She gets murdered, but does not die. Kate has a little brother named Johnny Southerland, who also vanishes and is not found even after multiple attempts to locate him. Only a bloody, severed finger serves as a clue to what might have happened to him. It appears that her real target is not the Southerland family.

In fact, she looks to battle against the protector of Southerlands. The Tor Books released it in Fred has set the story in and has introduced the important characters in this book as Philip Radcliffe, Thomas Paine, June Radcliffe, Mr.

He arrives in France for delivering Thomas Paine a letter. A simple job turns into a horrific experience for Philip as he gets caught in a horrifying conflict. He foils a vampires fratricide attempt and in the process dooms himself as well as his descendants in suffering from the eternal vengeance of the vampire.

While on a honeymoon trip, June and Phili Radcliffe get kidnapped. The kidnapper, a mysterious man named Mr. Graves, tells them that he is just trying to protect them. The thrilling and suspenseful story goes on to unfold with the depiction of other characters like Marquis de Sade, Napoleon, Detective Dupin, Jerry Cruncher, and Scarlet Pimpernel. The Radcliffes do not believe any of the words stated by Mr. Graves and this puts their lives in a great danger.

However, Mr. Graves is still adamant in protecting them even though they do not have trust in him. He knows that he is the only man they will turn to when they will realize the truth about the situation that they are in at the moment.

Graves vows not to let the powerful vampire harm them. We recently conducted a poll among visitors and the Memory Man series was voted the 8th most favourite series by all readers.

If you ARE an avid reader of it then great news — a new book is coming out very soon!!! Pre-order now. Please Note The links beside each book title will take you to Amazon, who I feel are the best online retailer for books where you can read more about the book, or purchase it. Please note that as an Amazon Associate, I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Recommendations Every 2 weeks we send out an e-mail with Book Recommendations. Insert your e-mail below to start getting these recommendations. If you see one missing just send me an e-mail below. Then you need to read the Coffeehouse Mysteries.

This series by Cleo Coyle has been going strong since and is still publishing highly rated books every year. An excellent series to get you through the cold months. More details.

However there is a lot more to Blake than just that series. He has written some of the best sci-fi books there is such as Dark Matter and Recursion. More Details. He can speak many languages including Farsi, and initially worked for the CIA before deciding to go the route of an author.


The First Book of Swords

Each sword has a unique, magical ability and is powerful enough to affect the mythological gods that exist within the series. The plot of the entire series revolves around the finding, acquiring, stealing, using, and eventually destroying of the Swords. Eight more are destroyed by Shieldbreaker in the Lost Swords series. The 12 swords are: 1.


Books of Swords Series



Fred Saberhagen



List of works by Fred Saberhagen


Related Articles